I Will Rise – Peace

Standard

It’s really easy to just sing songs because everyone else is singing them. But do we ever really stop to think about what the song is saying about us? About God? I love praise and worship music and my favorite song right now is called I Will Rise, sung by Chris Tomlin. There is just so much truth packed in this song that I thought it might be nice to look at the lyrics and study them a bit. I may even break this into a couple of posts to help keep this simple. I need simple after my last post about prayer. That one made my head spin, lol. I hope the link above works for you so you can hear the song. It really is beautiful!

“There’s a peace I’ve come to know,

though my heart and flesh may fail.

There’s an anchor for my soul,

I can say, “It is well!”

Four little lines. One big idea- peace. I can’t find a definition that seems to fit this kind of peace that is conveyed here in this song. In once sense it is a peace that goes beyond understanding and can’t be put into words but I can tell you a story, though, that I think begins to capture at least part of what peace is about. When I was in eighth grade I found my mom lying on the floor, unresponsive. I called for my dad and my dad called 911. In all of the chaos of paramedics and emts, something told me to pray. So right there I dropped to my knees in the living room next to all of this craziness going on and I prayed and I received a peace that I didn’t understand and still don’t fully to this day. God told me that despite what was going on, he had it all under control even if the worse my young brain could imagine happened.

It’s easier to find peace when life is calm but as Christians, we should be seeking this peace regardless of our circumstances. Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.” This means that if you are a Christian, then God’s got your best interest in mind. It doesn’t matter if our circumstances seem easy or hard, God has it all under his control. This is good news! And if we truly believe that, and if we believe that God is love and only allows what is best for us to happen, then we can rest easy even in times of turmoil.

If we truly had this peace that remains even when “(our) hearts and flesh may fail,” wouldn’t that show in our lives? Wouldn’t non-Christians at least remark on the influence this peace has on our lives if not want it for themselves? I confess that even though I have encountered this deep peace throughout my life, I am inconsistent in my search of it. Instead of using it as an “anchor for my soul” I allow myself to be tossed about on the waves of uncertainty until I become postitively seasick with worry. I let little things like the kids spilling milk on the floor… that I just mopped… again… bother me or I get frustrated when I get to the grocery store for that one thing I needed only to find they are sold out. But we, who confess Christ as Lord, are called for so much more than this! It is God’s peace that gives us power to rest in him even in the mundane everyday trials of life and it is the reason we can say, “It is well” or it’s ok when things seem to go horribly wrong because we believe that God’s will cannot be thwarted by evil, no matter how hard evil tries.

We need to be people who are actively seeking and receiving God’s peace. We need to be praying that we fully trust God for what he promises, “that in all things (he) works for the good of those who love him.” We need to let Go and let God do his thing and be willing to be  part of his plan, no matter what that means. Only when we give up ourselves and exchange our desires for the desires of God will we experience true peace.

The End.

One response »

  1. Pingback: If at all you can sing : IMPACT LIVES! | ofsol

Share your thoughts...

