I Will Rise- Jesus Has Overcome!

Standard

Jesus has overcome,

and the grave is overwhelmed!

The victory is won,

He is risen from the dead!

And I will rise when he calls my name,

No more sorrow, no more pain.

I will rise on eagle’s wings,

before my God fall on my knees and rise!

I will rise!

Ah, the sweet message of Easter- Jesus has overcome and the grave is overwhelmed! The victory is won, he is risen from the dead! For me there are no sweeter words than these! The reason I have hope in anything, the reason I can face tomorrow and the reason I can face anything Satan can throw my way is in these words. The victory is won! There is a battle, my friends, one we can not see. We can see the results of it in the pain and suffering of this world, but we can’t see the battle itself. It is waged between God and Satan. Yes, there is a Satan and his ultimate goal is to defeat God and become God, himself. Angels and demons surround us though we can’t see them.  We are constantly being attacked by these demons. Ephesians 6:12 says, “For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms.”  But even though this battle is being waged in “the heavenly realms” we feel the effects. Sin, pain, and suffering are all results of this battle. You want to know why there is pain and suffering in the world? It’s because Satan causes it. He uses it to try to keep people from having a saving relationship with God. He wants to hurt God by taking these casualties of the war. But the victory is won! Yes, the victory is won! A common misconception of hell is that it doesn’t matter if you go there because you cease to exist. A more accurate description would be a place without God and a place without God is a place without Good and and place without Good is a place of Evil and Despair. Those going to Hell spend an eternity in the presence of pure Evil. But the victory is won! Jesus, when he died, went to Hell. Can you imagine the partying that happened that day among Satan and his minions? God, himself , went to Hell and was under Satan’s control. But the victory is won! And on the third day Jesus, conquered Hell and we no longer have to be bound to our sin. The victory is won! Hell couldn’t contain Jesus’ power or greatness or Goodness and Jesus, overwhelmed the grave. The victory is won! The war I face is still going on all around me and I may lose the battle from time to time, but the war is going to be over and the victory is mine, through Jesus!

The victory is won and I will rise! My body may grow old and weary and worn or I could die tomorrow. But someday I will rise when he calls my name!  There is a day when Jesus comes back, and he is coming back, that he will call my name. And if by that time I am dead in the grave or if I am still walking this earth, my body will rise to meet him and I will be united with my glorious Savior! “For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first,” (1 Thes. 4:16). Yes, my friends, I will rise when he calls my name and all of the pain and suffering that I endured on this earth will cease. I will rise and when I do it will be swift as if I were riding on the very wings of eagles. I will rise! And when I finally get to see Jesus face-to-face on that glorious day I will fall before Him. I don’t know if it will be out of gratitude, or humility, or awe,or out of sheer weakness before his greatness, but I will fall down and worship him. And then I imagine the most beautiful thing happening. Jesus, the mighty Conquerer and my glorious Savior will take my hand and raise me up again to share in his glory. “Now if we are children (of God), then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory,” (Romans 8:17)

Yes, I will rise, I will fall and I will rise again! What will you do? Will you hear your name called by Jesus? Or will you be left with the others who don’t know Jesus and his saving grace? What will you do? I urge you to consider Jesus as a way of life. I know that the things you have to take on faith can be difficult to accept at first. But I, personally, have seen and experienced enough of God to assure you that He is real, that he loves you with an unconditional love and that he longs to have a relationship with you. I will rise, will you?

The end.

Share your thoughts...

