I Will Rise – Darkness to Light

Standard

There’s a day that’s drawing near

when this darkness breaks to light,

And the shadows disappear,

And my faith shall be my eyes.

In some of my philosophy classes in college, Jesus was described as pure Light and the absence of Jesus or the antithesis of Jesus, namely Satan, as pure Darkness. Jesus himself describes himself in these terms, ” When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (John 8:12).

Forget about all that philosophical stuff for a minute and think about how light works in relationship to darkness. There is light and dark, yes. Scientifically speaking there are varying degrees of light, but not varying degrees of dark and dark is defined as the absence of light. Think about shadows. If you are standing in the shadows, you are being hidden from the light and only some indirect light can reach you. We are living in the time of shadows. Jesus is everywhere, but we can try to hide from him, so to speak. We can stand in the shadows of sin and denial (it’s not just river in Egypt!). We often do, think about the story of Adam and Eve in the garden. Regardless of whether you believe this to be a factual story or just a moral one, there is a very important part added that talks about Adam and Eve hiding in the trees immediately after they sinned, “Then the man and his wife heard the sound of the Lord God as he was walking in the garden in the cool of the day, and they hid from the Lord God among the trees of the garden.  But the Lord God called to the man, “Where are you?” (Genesis 3:8-9) Are we to understand that we can really completely hide from God or that God needed to play Marco Polo to find Adam and Eve? No. He is everywhere in this world though I think we can try to hide in the shadows.  All that to say there is coming a day where God’s light will shine everywhere and there will be no where to “hide” from God.

Our eyes see because of light. When the day comes that pure Light enters into the world and there is no Darkness, then and only then will we be able to see all of the things that we don’t understand. I know I have a laundry list of things I want to know about when I no longer have to use my faith to get me through: How does the Trinity work? How can Jesus be fully God and fully human? How does prayer really work? I have faith in the Trinity. I have faith that Jesus is fully God and fully human. I have faith that prayer works. I don’t, however, have any proof other than what the Bible says about these things (and the Bible doesn’t even call the Trinity, the Trinity!) and my own experiences to go on. But on that day, that glorious day, when Light comes and there are no shadows at all, then I will see with my eyes all that which I don’t understand but believe anyway! Then we can truly sing the words, “I once was lost but now, I’m found, was blind but now I see!”

The End

Share your thoughts...

