In Christ Alone- Devo

Standard


Click here to play In Christ Alone.

In Christ alone my hope is found
He is my light, my strength, my song
This Cornerstone, this solid ground
Firm through the fiercest drought and storm

What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand

The cornerstone. It’s more than just a stone in a corner. It’s the first stone set where two walls join together and becomes the reference point for all the other stones in the building. If the cornerstone is askew by just a little bit or made of the wrong material, the very integrity of the building becomes compromised. And so it is with life. If what we put our hope in is not made of the right material or off kilter just a bit then the rest of what we believe will crumble at the first sign of trouble.

Let me give you a cold, hard, truth. I have not been living my life as if Christ alone is my cornerstone or hope. I hope that my husband’s job is stable. I hope my children don’t throw another temper tantrum in the grocery store. I hope that the drs. can cure my step mom of cancer. I hope that my car doesn’t go kaputz. I put my hope in a lot of things, and this is sin. Ouch. How about you? What are you putting your hope in?

The only thing we as Christians should place our hope in is the Lord, himself. Psalm 39:6&7 says this:

“Surely everyone goes around like a mere phantom;
in vain they rush about, heaping up wealth
without knowing whose it will finally be.

 “But now, Lord, what do I look for?
My hope is in you.”

The car will break down, my husband’s job could disappear, the doctors can fail,  and my children’s behavior fluctuates… all of these things are phantoms. They are here one minute and gone the next, but God? God is constant. Things and situations change so quickly and yet I will put my hope in these mere phantoms. How ridiculous is this when I have access to an unchanging God?!?! If you read the “Your Great Name Devo” you will already know that God is. He is yesterday, he is today, he is tomorrow. He always is. God says it himself in Malachi 5:6, “I, the Lord, do not change.” That means that everything that is true about God is always true. And yet, I often toss these perfect things aside like trash for the things that I cannot depend on. Wow. That hurts to admit but it’s the truth. How many of us “Christians” do the same thing? We put our hope in the temporal things we can see with our eyes instead of in the One who is “firm through the fiercest drought and storm.” It’s no wonder non-Christians want nothing to with Jesus. We live our lives like hypocrites! We preach faith, hope and love, but we fail to practice these things and when bad things happen, we are blown about like paper ships on an angry sea all while saying we have hope in the one who can calm the storm. Yes, it’s no wonder we are called hypocrites. Today, let’s set aside these things in which we have placed our false hope and instead, let’s practice what we preach! Let’s begin to place our hope in the “All in All”, the Lord Jesus Christ. Let him become the cornerstone upon which everything else in our lives is built upon.

The End.

3 responses »

  1. You are on FIRE with the blog posts, and I’m really enjoying reading your thoughts. Just wanted to let you know 🙂

Share your thoughts...

