In Christ Alone- Devo 4

Standard

No guilt in life, no fear in death
This is the power of Christ in me
From a life’s first cry to final breath
Jesus commands my destiny

No power of hell, no scheme of man
Could ever pluck me from His hand
Til He returns or calls me home

Here in the power of Christ I stand

This verse is very personal to me. If you read How Jesus Changed My Life- A True Story you will know that I have an awful lot that I was guilty for. I did a lot of stupid things, ever been there? But because of the work that Jesus has done in my life, I now do not have to face the penalty of my actions. I deserved to die but because I confessed my sins “Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death,” (Romans 8:1&2) Basically I was arrested on charges and found guilty. I should have received the death penalty but Jesus offered to die in my place! This is why I have no fear in death. Yes, my physical body may decay and die but my soul will live on for eternity with God. I don’t need to be afraid of going to Hell because I have been set free from sin and spiritual death.

For me one of the most reassuring Bible passages is found in Romans 8:

“Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? Shall trouble or hardship or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? As it is written:

“For your sake we face death all day long;
we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.”

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons,neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:35-39)

Isn’t that good news?!? That means that once we are saved nothing, absolutely nothing can pluck us from the hand of God! Think about how that should impact our lives! We never have to live in fear because there is absolutely nothing that can tear us apart from Christ once we are Christians. In fact, We are called “more than conquerers”! I’m not exactly sure what that means, but I like the way it sounds and it gives me confidence in my relationship with Christ. What would happen if we Christians quit living as if we were powerless and started to embrace the power given to us through Christ? What if we stopped being afraid to share our beautiful stories about how Christ changed our lives? What if we started to believe we are more than conquerers of the bad things in our lives? I know that I am getting tired of living a life that is less than what God promised. We need to rise up and claim these promises for our own, believing that they are given by God and ours for the taking!

The End.

Share your thoughts...

