0. The Life of Christ, A Bible Study – Intro

Standard

I’ve been feeling a need to switch gears from looking at praise songs to looking at the Bible itself, and what better place to start than with Jesus. I plan on taking a comprehensive look at all 4 Gospels to get a fuller picture of his life and teachings and sharing what I learn with y’all. I hope by doing this, we will begin to earnestly seek not only what Jesus taught and did (head knowledge) but also to apply his life to our own so that we may become more like him (heart knowledge)! Do you want to know what God’s will for your life is? Study the Scriptures and let it tell you. Romans 12:2 says, “Do not conform to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is- his good, pleasing and perfect will.” We must change and renew our minds to focus on the things of God and the things of God are found in the Bible. This is why I feel a need to teach from the Bible itself.

I want to give you a quick overview of the Gospels. First off, the word Gospel means “good news”. The books of Matthew, Mark, Luke and John are called the Gospels because they tell us about the good news of Christ. Matthew, Mark and Luke are often called the Synoptic Gospels. That just means that many of their stories overlap although they may be told in slightly different ways depending upon how the author told the story. John also tells about Jesus’ life but it is the most different of the four books. Which leads to something I’d like to address. Some critics of the Gospels say they are not reliable because they are not identical in their storytelling. Well, think about a time when you and some friends were present for the same event. Each of you will have the same story but each of you will have your own versions of the story. The stories aren’t wrong, they are just different- each one shaded by the story teller’s background. For example, Matthew was a Jew and tells his version of events with a Jewish mindset and a Jewish audience in mind. Luke, however, was a not a Jew and was educated as a doctor. His version of the story is flavored with references of Jesus as the great physician and healer while keeping a Gentile audience in mind. They do not compete, they compliment each other.

There is so much that I hope we will discover together. This study means that you must do your part and read the Bible with me. I will try to keep the passages we study each day manageable but please spend time reading the actual Bible verses and not just skip ahead to the commentary, which I will confess I tend to do when I am in a hurry. After all it is the Word of God that brings life not what I have to say about it. Having said that I am excited to see what we learn together. I will try to post every 3 days to give you time to actually study and meditate on the verses we are reading. Feel free to ask questions or comment below. I may not know the answer to your question but I will try to find the answer and if I can’t I promise not to make one up. And if you disagree with me that’s ok too. I could be wrong. Feel free to share your thoughts even if they are different than mine as long as you are respectful about it.

Thanks for starting this journey with me and I look forward to “seeing” you tomorrow!

The End.

Share your thoughts...

